A Thousand Forests in One Acorn: An Anthology of Spanish-Language Fiction


by Valerie Miles

September 9, 2014
anthology | pb (w/ flaps) | 721 pgs
6" x 9"

A Thousand Forests in One Acorn: An Anthology of Spanish-Language Fiction brings together twenty-eight of the most important Spanish-language writers of the twentieth century—several of which will be familiar to English-language readers, like Carlos Fuentes, Javier Marías, and Mario Vargas Llosa, and many who will be new revelations, such as Aurora Venturini, Sergio Pitol, and Elvio Gandolfo—and provides them with a chance to discuss their careers and explain the aesthetic influences behind the pieces they chose to include in this volume. Unlike other anthologies, the stories and excerpts collected here were selected by the authors themselves and represent the “high point” of their writing career.

Valerie Miles—translator, editor, and co-founder of Granta en español—not only curated perhaps the greatest cross-section of contemporary Spanish-language literature to be anthologized, but also brings to this collection original interviews with every author, along with biographic prefaces before each, in order to best introduce the reader to the author’s entire oeuvre and his or her literary impact.

Breathtaking in scope and historical detail, this anthology will no doubt become a fixture in personal literary collections, as well as a go-to resource for classrooms and libraries alike. (Read an Excerpt)

Translated from the Spanish by Various Translators

About the Author: Valerie Miles is the co-founder of Granta en español and was voted one of the “Most Influential Professionals in Publishing” at the 2013 Buenos Aires Book Fair.

About the Contributors: Included in this volume are pieces by Horacio Castellanos Moya, Rafael Chirbes, José de la Colina, Edgardo Cozarinsky, Cristina Fernández Cubas, Alfredo Bryce Echenique, Jorge Edwards, Abilio Estévez, Rafael Sánchez Ferlosio, Carlos Fuentes, Elvio Gandolfo, Juan Goytisolo, Javier Marías, Juan Marsé, Ana María Matute, Eduardo Mendoza, José María Merino, Antonio Muñoz Molina, Ricardo Piglia, Ramiro Pinilla, Sergio Pitol, Evelio Rosero, Alberto Ruy Sánchez, Esther Tusquets, Hebe Uhart, Mario Vargas Llosa, Aurora Venturini, and Enrique Vila-Matas.